Add RSS Feed or

Wednesday, June 04, 2008

Seahawks 53-man roster

Jordan Kent is starting to make the kind of strides he needs to in order to make the team. Although I noted him as a longshot in my receiver analysis, he might be working himself onto the fringe of the roster. I've had him as making the opening day roster based on my assumption that Deion Branch will start the season on the PUP list. If that doesn't happen, then I still seem him as facing rather long odds. Kevin Hobbs is also beginning to look like he might challenge for a DB spot. That will be quite a challenge with Jordan Babineaux moving to CB on a full-time basis.

It is probably time to update the Seahawks 53-man roster that was posted here on May 2nd prior to the first minicamp: Seahawks 53-man Roster (as of 5/2).

I didn't actually make any changes, although C.J. Wallace certainly has a few things working against him. At this point, I see Kevin Hobbs, Jamar Adams, Howard Green, David Kirtman, Kyle Williams, and Olindo Mare as the most likely of the omitted players to make a run at the roster.

Kevin Hobbs and Jamar Adams will be pushing Mike Green and C.J. Wallace. Howard Green is in a head-to-head battle with Larry Tripplett. David Kirtman is trying to hold off Owen Schmitt. Kyle Williams is the injury contingency plan at tackle, and Olindo Mare is in a heads-up battle with Brandon Coutou.

The practice squad guesswork will be included in the next installment, which should come out sometime between the end of minicamp and training camp.

Seahawks 53-man roster (as of 6/4)

Offense (26)
QB (3) - Matt Hasselbeck, Seneca Wallace, Charlie Frye
HB/FB (5) - Julius Jones, T.J. Duckett, Maurice Morris, Leonard Weaver, Owen Schmitt
WR (6) - Nate Burleson, Bobby Engram, Ben Obomanu, Courtney Taylor, Logan Payne, Jordan Kent
TE (3) - John Carlson, Jeb Putzier, Will Heller
OL (9) - Walter Jones, Sean Locklear, Chris Spencer, Rob Sims, Mike Wahle, Chris Gray, Ray Willis, Mansfield Wrotto, Floyd Womack

Defense (24)
DE (4) - Patrick Kerney, Darryl Tapp, Lawrence Jackson, Baraka Atkins
DT (5) - Rocky Bernard, Brandon Mebane, Red Bryant, Craig Terrill, Larry Tripplett
LB (7) - Lofa Tatupu , Julian Peterson, Leroy Hill, D.D. Lewis, Lance Laury, Will Herring, Wesley Mallard
S (4) - Deon Grant, Brian Russell, Mike Green, C.J. Wallace
CB (4) - Marcus Trufant, Kelly Jennings, Josh Wilson, Jordan Babineaux

Special Teams (3)
K - Brandon Coutu
P - Ryan Plackemeier
LS - Tyler Schmitt

PUP List
WR - Deion Branch
DT - Marcus Tubbs

Labels: ,